Morning in America.

January 20, 2009 at 6:11 pm Leave a comment

Today was a beautiful day in every sense of the word. With a bright and cloudless sky, a slight chilly bite in the air, and a cup of coffee in hand, I watched a man, with an expression that could only be described as humble, stand in our nation’s capitol and become our 44th president.

 

What I will remember most of today is the look in his eyes as he walked out before a crowd of millions. Far from smiling, his eyes, as he walked out into the sun, revealed an awareness of the enormity of the occasion, the historic nature of the day, and the hard work ahead. 

 

I expected to have some snarky remarks today about the outgoing president and vice president, but once I sat down to write, I realized that the last thing I want to do on this beautiful winter day is think on the last eight years. So instead, I will look optimistically ahead, vowing to support my president with both eyes open, and asking not what my country may do for me, but what I may do for my country.

 

 

humbled

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

She Had a Suitcase Full of Noble Intentions. 25 Random Facts About Me.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I also write for:

Latest Twitter Ramblings

Five Star Friday

Archives

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

