She Had a Suitcase Full of Noble Intentions.

December 10, 2008 at 7:00 am 4 comments

 

the suitcase is a metaphor.

the suitcase is a metaphor.

 

Dear God, is that a cobweb I see in the upper right-hand corner?

 

 

So I’ve been somewhat of a neglectful blogger. So much so, in fact, that I don’t even recognize the WordPress dashboard anymore. It took me a few minutes to figure out how to post!

 

The last few months were not easy. I had a difficult courseload and a new job that was a definite trial by fire. And my job still scares me, frankly. It’s hard and humbling and wonderful and a mix of good and bad, but mostly good. I am still not very good at it, or not as good as I’d like to be, but it’s been a valuable experience all around.

 

It’s difficult to sum up three months that have gone virtually unrecapped, so I’ll attempt to hit on the memorable parts in bullet form:

 

  • I dressed like a drag queen. Twice. 
  • I handed out countless condoms and dental dams and helped put on a really great safer-sex workshop that inspired at least one student to get tested for HIV.
  • I coordinated a live shadow cast performance and screening for The Rocky Horror Picture Show helped assemble over 200 bags of props for audience members to throw during the movie.  
  • This led to sweeping up approximately 200 pieces of toast, 15 lbs of rice and nearly 1,000 playing cards after all was said and done.
  • I laughed a lot and bonded with coworkers.
  • I cried, too. A lot.
  • I discovered I never, ever, at any point in my life, wish to go to law school. EVER.
  • I wrote a vernacular criticism of an OutKast album for school credit.
  • My relationship turned three years old and continued to kick ass, even though I rarely saw my husband, who last week broke my heart when he said, “I’ve really missed you.” 
  • I voted for President-elect Barack Obama. Still so amazing to say.
  • I had Thanksgiving with my family and a bunch of complete strangers and had a ridiculously good time.
  • I turned 28.
  • I had a terrifying justify-your-existence conference to move forward with my degree and survived it.
  • I drank a lot of 5-Hour Energy.
  • I survived a grueling last week of school, only to come down with tonsillitis in the home stretch.

 

I have a lot of resolutions for the new year and the new quarter. I need to be more organized, pay more attention to detail, and delegate more to my staff and volunteers. I need to take better care of myself in many ways — sleeping more, eating better, making time for the gym and “me time”, and spending more time with my best friend in the world.

 

But I also discovered that I really need this blog. I have really missed having a place for reckoning and sorting shit out, yet I would constantly tell myself I had higher priorities than blogging. I was wrong to dismiss it as unimportant, though.  I have  missed the community and also the forced time spent alone, having conversations with myself and putting some order to my thoughts. I lament the missed opportunities to explore the amazing experiences I’ve had and new ideas and theories I’ve discovered.

 

I resolve to put more order into my life, and blogging is part of maintaining that order, among many other things I neglected to do for myself. My preparation for the last quarter was akin to how I often end up packing before a long trip. In fact, a poorly packed suitcase is pretty much the perfect metaphor for the past three months:  too much shit I didn’t need, some essential items forgotten, and what was in the case was stuffed into it frantically, crumpled into little balls and tossed in haphazardly.

 

And so I resolve to start packing my suitcase with more care, both literally and metaphorically. I will take out the items I don’t need and neatly fold the ones I do. I will put them into the case with some sense of order and organization. I might find, once I’ve done so, that I have room for some items I forgot to pack last time, those essential items I always seem to forget about until I’ve arrived at my destination and slap my forehead, wondering how I’ll get through my trip without, say, a toothbrush, or my cellphone charger. I will live a more organized life that is equally full, but with order, sense, and an idea of what my needs will be once I arrive at my destination.

Entry filed under: dumbfuckery, family, friends, life stuff, school, work. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Dear Andrew. Morning in America.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. baltimoregal  |  December 10, 2008 at 6:57 am

    Go, girl!
    Also, get some sleep.

    Reply
  • 2. jodifur  |  December 10, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    and welcome back.

    Reply
  • 3. teri lee  |  December 10, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    Why don’t you wanna go to law school??

    Reply
    • 4. snarking  |  December 11, 2008 at 4:13 pm

      After doing just a survey in law, I find the subject too boring to really spend three years of my life studying.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I also write for:

Latest Twitter Ramblings

Five Star Friday

Archives

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

