Gobbledy-gook.

July 22, 2008 at 4:15 pm 2 comments

Random crap:

1) New article up at MamaPop for your reading pleasure: Douchebag of the Week: Michael Savage. Incidentally, I’m thinking of making “Douchebag of the Week” a regular thing. Surely there are enough douchebags I can write about to make it a weekly column.

2) Holy crap, please turn off my waterworks. Why is it I become more emotional the older I get? I thought I was supposed to get jaded and callous and all that stuff. But, no, instead I cry pretty much at anything, especially at this particular time of the month. Savage Love made me cry this afternoon, for crissakes. Seriously, though, read the first letter and tell me it doesn’t make you sad. Maybe it’s just that I relate. I’ve always been unattractive by conventional standards (i.e., fat), and have had to rely on being the funniest or the smartest girl in the room to survive, so maybe I just relate to the writer of the letter. I just want to find her and give her a hug and tell her she’s beautiful.

3) Okay, so the best part about this summer vacation is obviously the free time, but more specifically, it’s the novel concept of having time to prepare dinner that involves more labor than pushing 7-10 digits on my cell phone and speaking with a skilled pizza technician. Sunday I decided to go all out, and was amazed that, even though I made the entree up on the fly, it came out great and was done at the same time as the risotto. I have a thing for food stuffed inside of other food, so I made pork stuffed with chevre, spinach, garlic, and toasted hazelnuts.Β 

This was a Very Good Idea. It was delicious. The only thing I’d do different next time is make it a roulade/pinwheel, but I didn’t have any twine.

Anyway, this post is jumbled and boring so I’m gonna go ahead and GTFO.

Entry filed under: Intarwebs, life stuff. Tags: , , , , , .

High at work. It has been one week since my last confession.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. BaltimoreGal  |  July 23, 2008 at 5:44 am

    I would LOVE to know exactly how you made that pork dish. Sounds good!

    Reply
  • 2. snarking  |  July 23, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    BaltimoreGal:

    It’s SO easy.

    Here’s what you do:

    First, toast about 10 hazelnuts or filberts in the oven for 7-8 minutes. You can remove the darkened husks by letting the nuts cool and rolling them around on the counter inside a plastic baggie. Chop the nuts and set aside. Then take a good bunch of spinach, clean it, dry it, devein it, chop it up and set aside. Mince 2-3 garlic cloves and saute two minutes in a tablespoon of olive oil; add spinach and wilt slightly. Place the spinach and garlic in a medium bowl with the hazelnuts and 2-4 oz of chevre (more for a larger loin, less for a small one), and mix it together until it looks a bit like filling for ravioli. Butterfly the pork loin and spread the spinach and cheese mixture evenly, leaving some room at the edges so it doesn’t seep out. You can tie it with kitchen twine if you have it (I didn’t) every inch or so along the length of the pork loin. Then you just roast at 400F until it has an internal temp of 150, rest for 5-10 minutes to let the juices in the meat settle back into the meat and slice to serve. Alternately, you can butterly the roast, pounds it into a thinner, wider slab of meat, spread the mixture evenly, and then roll and secure with cooking twine (you may need to have more filling for there to be enough.

    I’ve done a roulade before, but it was with lamb; the same principle should apply, though.

    Bon apetit!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I also write for:

Latest Twitter Ramblings

Five Star Friday

Archives

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

