Pride and Prejudice

July 14, 2008 at 5:02 pm 6 comments

Yesterday was very fun and very draining. I marched in my first pride parade with a banner for Safe Schools Coalition and the Whatcom Human Rights Task Force.

We had protestors. There were only a small handful of them, but the were posted along our parade route with huge signs with things like “FAG NATION” on them. Lovely. They were shouting something about our perversion over their bullhorns, but the marchers and onlookers were whooping and hollering so loud that they were largely drowned out.

Photo courtesy of Phil Rose

Photos courtesy of Phil Rose

When I got to the festival, I texted Andrew from my booth to tell him about the protestors, who then texted back, “OMG I’m on my way.”

This is Andrew, on the right, with one of the hate-mongers. Please note the shirt:

(Andrew's shirt has a cloud striking a sheep with lightning; the cloud says "god" and the sheep says "you". Heh.)

As the god people predicted, today I am paying dearly for my sins. The weekend took its toll on my skin (which has two days worth of sunburn) and my back, which is extremely out of whack from Saturday. To make matters worse, I got a horrific set of cramps right around bedtime last night that kept me awake all night. These ailments combined to form a trifecta of ouch that left me with no choice but to email in sick today. I spent the better part of the day sleeping and indulging in what has to be my number one guilty pleasure: Countdown Shows.

I love countdown shows. Even though the number one on just about every list is a total disappointment, if one of these shows is on, I am there from number 20 to the Number One, Most _____________ Ever.

Not having the energy to leave the house today meant I also didn’t have the energy to get coffee, which is probably why I have been a human cow pie all day and the fact that I have written nothing for my first article over at MamaPop tomorrow. I sort of started a piece about Hollywood divorce settlements and how they create a negative perception of alimony and women in divorce, which in turn reflects on how average Americans view alimony as gold-digging rather than fair compensation for the majority of woman divorcees in our country, who leave their marriages impoverished. It seemed kind of heavy, even with its snarky tone, so I don’t know if I’ll finish it.

Maybe I’ll just write about the tragedy that is the Jimmy Kimmel/Sarah Silverman break-up. I am pretty bummed about it, actually, not just because they were cute and funny, but because it means there will never be a follow up to the “I’m Fucking Matt Damon” songs.

Entry filed under: Bellingham, life stuff, marriage, work. Tags: , , , , , , , .

In which I discuss some of my numerous Issues. In which your narrator expresses remorse for being a Bad Person

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kdiddy  |  July 14, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    “Maybe Iโ€™ll just write about the tragedy that is the Jimmy Kimmel/Sarah Silverman break-up.”

    wait WHAT??!?! I did not hear about this and am now rather devastated. I loved those crazy kids together.

    that article that you’re working on sounds pretty rad. and hey, you can always come back to it. take your time.

    i love how the sign of the first protester has “homo” crossed out all tiny in the lower right corner of his sign. like the sign was complete until he added that detail. like maybe his brother Jeb was reading the sign and scratching his head until he got to the bottom and said, “OHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH I get it NOW”

    Reply
  • 2. snarking  |  July 14, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    LOL. You know what else I found inexhaustibly hilarious about the guy with that particular sign? I don’t know if you can read it, but in a rather elegant looking embroidered font, his cap commands, “REPENT PERVERT”

    Oh, man, I will be eating ROFLwaffles for a week about those dudes. Thanks, haters!

    Reply
  • 3. kdiddy  |  July 14, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    I also really like that his shirt looks like it says, “Be Ready 2 C Jesus.” dude, Jesus is 2 Legit 2 Quit!

    Reply
  • 4. snarking  |  July 14, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    Oh, I know. OMG, best t-shirt idea ever: Jesus, dressed in a purple velvet suit on a cross saying “I Would Die 4 U”.

    Reply
  • 5. Tif  |  July 14, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    Fag Nation would make a great reality show considering Kid Nation failed so miserably. Chels says there’s a dude at the Vancouver Pride Parade who dresses up like Jesus and walks around shouting “REPENT SODOMITES!” Adorable.

    And I think Andrew looks great with his newly shaven head. It’s a good look on him. Make sure he sunscreens it this summer though!

    Reply
  • 6. Gordon  |  July 14, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    i always loved this one:

    (in case the html failed: http://failblog.files.wordpress.com/2008/03/protests_fail.jpg )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I also write for:

Latest Twitter Ramblings

Five Star Friday

Archives

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

