I don’t have the energy to be a trailblazer.

July 10, 2008 at 7:34 pm 5 comments

I had a spike in readers yesterday, probably because I burned my bra over at MamaPop on Tuesday and everyone nominated me for president or asked me to marry them. But then they all went away. Come back, readers!

But, you know, I don’t have any realistic expectations of blog-fame. I am not pretty enough to vlog, so I will be no Rocket Boom or zefrank. I am not a hard-hitting political blogger, so I will never be Josh Marshall or Markos Moulitsas Zúniga. I don’t have kids to make my life hell and say the darnedest things, so I will never make it to the mommyblogger Hall of Fame. But, when my high day for site hits doesn’t even break 100 and then drops down to, like, my husband and all four of my friends, I must actually just, well, suck.

But perspective is important. I just started watching My Life on The D-List, because I’m really up on the trends of two years ago. For example I just started using my Twitter account this week. I started this blog less than a year ago, a full two years after the MSM discovered blogs. If it’s falling out of popularity, I’m running to get on that train! So, seeing how hard a household name like Kathy Griffin has to work to promote herself, I am somewhat humbled. Seeing someone like Kathy, whom I would totally maul and kvetch over if I ever saw her in person, at an interview where the reporter didn’t know who she was until he researched her a half hour before meeting her, is extremely humbling. I love that, when he made that admission, her reaction was to decide it was a lunch, not an interview, and stuff her face with tea cakes and ignore all his questions.

I feel like I need a schtick, you know? What’s my schtick? My tag-line is “I’m just this girl, you know?” Which is partly a Douglas Adams reference, but it’s also true. I’m just this girl. 

 

But I sure do like to write.

Entry filed under: Intarwebs. Tags: , , , , , , .

Of course I left my beer at the store.. Thursday Evil Twin.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kdiddy  |  July 10, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    “I don’t have kids to make my life hell”

    heh. whatever *drinks*

    you don’t suck, you’re just not as prolific as you SHOULD be because you’re rad.

    did you watch do the right thing yet?

    Reply
  • 2. snarking  |  July 11, 2008 at 7:19 am

    Not yet. I’m still catching up on the 70s. It’s on my list, though!

    Reply
  • 3. sarah  |  July 13, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    glad to have you back lady!
    and congrats on the writing gig…looks like good fun.

    ps I dig the new look 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Sonia  |  July 18, 2008 at 9:04 am

    Well, I just started reading you today and already I have an internet girl crush. *blush* I’m here via Mama Pop, and a fellow Western Washingtonian. I’m about an hour South of you. LOVED your bra burning over at MP, and am still giggling about the impassioned responses you got. A few of those folks had clearly guzzled their quad shot lattes before they responded, no? 😉

    Reply
  • 5. Boy Crazy  |  September 25, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    OK, so I know this is a year old, but it was automatically generated as a ‘you might like this’ post at the end of today’s post, and I have to say it’s hilarious. And? Its a year later and I’M STILL NOT ON TWITTER. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I also write for:

Latest Twitter Ramblings

Five Star Friday

Archives

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

