Oh, hey, I have a blog?

July 8, 2008 at 9:49 am 6 comments

I haven’t updated for a long time, obviously. Before, I had a legitimate excuse. I was working 30 hours a week, taking 15 credits of writing intensive work and still trying to keep my house from looking like Grey Gardens.

(Speaking of Grey Gardens, I just finally saw it for the first time last night and now I kind of want to watch it over and over and read everything I can about the Edies.)

Anyhow, school has been out of session for a month now, so my legitimate excuse for not blogging is about as expired as 60% of the contents of my fridge. A comment from a fellow reader at MamaPop reminded me of this blog, which reminded me that I am a writer and that writers should write.

The tragedy is that I had so much good shit to write about while I was immersed in classes about social theory, but it’s all congealed into a gross theory slurry in my brain by now. I must make a concerted effort to process what I’m working through in school and reassemble the bits that bang around my brainpan, and what better place to do it than in my blog for all seven of my readers?

I’ve noted a change in my personality over the last few months, a confidence in my ideals that has translated into an unwillingness to hide them. I am not unashamed of my political views or my feminism. I never have been, really, but I’ve grown into them, grown more aware of my worldview and how to articulate it, and I’ve grown much more vocal as a result. This crops up from time to time at work. I simply refuse to apologize for or shield others from my novel perspective that women are people and voters and breadwinners and deserve equal representation in society, government and the workplace.

As a result, I have gotten a bad reputation, I think, as a humorless bitch. Which is hilarious, because it’s pretty much like, “uh…I’m saying?” The fact that you think that is precisely why I refuse to laugh at your misogynist jokes and, furthermore, call you out for them!

I am currently five and a half weeks away from my last day here, at which time I will take on a horrifically low-salary job on campus as the LGBTA Coordinator. Not that I’m counting. I am looking forward to working in a field I am passionate about and actually making a difference, even if on the surface my job looks like party planning. My two largest projects are planning a Drag Show and a Queer Prom, after all. However, I will also be educating queer and straight students about LGBTQ issues, providing resources and referrals for counseling and other forms of assistance, and will help build a campus coalition of queer students, faculty and allies, who see LGBTQ issues as human issues we must all deal with.

The fact that I have a job I care so much about lined up immediately after one I am so flagrantly dispassionate about, is a dangerous thing indeed. As my termination date grows closer, I find it harder and harder to punch the clock.

Entry filed under: life stuff, school, Uncategorized, work. Tags: , , , , .

Dear Info-tainment America: Quick Poll:

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kdiddy  |  July 8, 2008 at 10:02 am

    “I find it harder and harder to punch the clock.”

    I initially read this as “punch the cock.” It was funny. (I am feverish and delirious, for the record.)

    Reply
  • 2. Amber  |  July 8, 2008 at 10:31 am

    I never find it hard to punch the cock. I am, after all, a man-hating feminazi!

    Reply
  • 3. snarking  |  July 8, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    oops. That was I, snarking.

    Reply
  • 4. Jimmy  |  July 8, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    I wonder how many students walk away from their classes with “a gross theory slurry” in their heads. I know I did.

    Reply
  • 5. scapegrace  |  July 8, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    So, what grey gardens did you watch? I want to add it to my netfliz queue, but there look to be 2 versions. A google search didn’t help, it just further muddled the issue by adding the musical into the mix.

    And congrats on being able to move full time into a job that you will love and be passionate about! Plus, no more Kelly Kapur!!

    Reply
  • 6. Ed  |  July 9, 2008 at 7:24 am

    I believe Charles Kingsfield said it best, to his 1-Ls: “You come in here with your skulls full of mush…”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I also write for:

Latest Twitter Ramblings

Five Star Friday

Archives

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

