Yes we can.

February 9, 2008 at 3:28 pm Leave a comment

Today I participated in the most ridiculously chaotic civic process I have ever encountered. A caucus. Where I grew up, people voted on paper in little booths, like civilized human beings. In Washington, however, the Democratic primary doesn’t actually count, though the state spends millions of dollars on ballots for one anyway.

So today I met at a tiny Episcopalian elementary school kitchen with almost 150 of my neighbors to elect delegates to our county convention.  Our precinct had a heavy swing toward Senator Obama, with 9 of our 11 delegates going to Barack. And I am one of them.

I chose to volunteer myself as a delegate for Obama because, for the first time since I have been old enough to vote, a candidate I believe in has a real chance at being president.

I am not going to go into all the reasons why I want Barack Obama to be president. I don’t really want to get into a political discussion. I just want to say that, of the candidates in this race, only Barack Obama could make me sit in a tiny kitchen with 150 people for two hours to convince undecided voters that he should be our president, and I am proud to have the position to stand up for him on April 5th at my county convention with my fellow Obama supporters and say, “yes we can.”

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

If the dizzy spells persist, I’m going to need to get a divan to faint into. I have to pee.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I also write for:

Latest Twitter Ramblings

Five Star Friday

Archives

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

