I can barely see the screen through the tryptophan fog.

November 22, 2007 at 9:15 pm 3 comments

What does it say about Americans that we have a holiday entirely revolving around food? You can say it’s about giving thanks, but it’s mostly about turkey.

Dinner was a success, and it was actually at dinnertime rather than at 3 o clock in the afternoon as every Thanksgiving dinner seems to be. I kept everyone sated with cheese and salami and crackers so there would be no “where’s dinner?” cries. Meanwhile, Andrew showed everyone how to play Wii Sports. I didn’t really observe much, but from all the whooping and hollering it sounded like a hit.

At one point, my mom came into the kitchen to tell me that if I leave Andrew she’ll disown me or some shit. Thanks, Mom! Lucky for me I don’t plan on leaving, emotional blackmail aside.

There were a couple snags that resulted in two last minute shopping excursions, but the largest foible was that I dumped a large amount of nearly boiling water all over me. I have some uncomfortable first-degree burns on my belly, but I missed my feet. The last snag is not really a snag so much as an idiot moment, which is that I made way too much stuffing. Really, the ratio of stuffing to everything else is pretty hilarious. It’s almost three to one. I’m really glad I like stuffing.

The pie turned out great. It was not too sweet, which is pretty much the biggest triumph when making a pecan pie. The chocolate drizzle was fantastic and credit for that is largely due to my husband, who sensibly told me to stop listening to the recipe because it was dumb and that, even though it said to microwave the chocolate to drizzle on top, it would be much better to do a double boiler. Until he stepped in, I wasted 4 ounces of chocolate doing it in the microwave, each time ending up with gloopy chocolate that was crystallized at the edges in a superheated dish that made me yell “Motherfucker!” a lot, which is what I yell when my flesh is burning, so it was exclaimed several times today.

We melted the chocolate with bourbon, also deviating from the recipe, and that was pretty much the best idea since bourbon.

Now Andrew is “not asleep!” on the couch, and I am wired and tired at the same time.

I went on a walk alone after my guests left and it felt like winter, right on cue, like once the plates were cleared and leftovers put away, it was like, “Hey, here I am!”

I saw a man in a red plaid coat putting up Christmas lights in the dim light from the street. He’s going to fall off that ladder, I just know it.

Happy Thanksgiving.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Holy Crap! Black Friday.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Allison  |  November 23, 2007 at 1:07 am

    Lots and lots of recipes tell you to do stupid things that are wrong. Mostly recipes aren’t like blueprints; if you change a thing or two the building won’t collapse. In fact, I find a lot of recipes work a lot better with some common-sense changes.

    Good on Andrew!

    Reply
  • 2. iris  |  November 23, 2007 at 7:21 am

    I too am a big proponent of futzing with recipes.
    Except the ones I get from smitten kitchen; she does the futzing for me, and makes the recipes perfect!

    Reply
  • 3. snarking  |  November 24, 2007 at 3:20 am

    Yay, Julie!

    I have added you to my profile and have pretty much been reading through your whole blog for the last two hours.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I also write for:

Latest Twitter Ramblings

Five Star Friday

Archives

November 2007
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

