Thanksgiving Countdown!

November 19, 2007 at 8:51 pm 1 comment

I think Thanksgiving may be my favorite holiday and I don’t think it’s a coincidence that I was born on Thanksgiving Day. I am excited and apprehensive about cooking Thanksgiving dinner this year. I don’t really know what I’m apprehensive about, except maybe the fact that I am not a regular preparer of veritable feasts and I expect something to go awry, but this year proves to be less complicated than the year before.

Last year, Andrew and I shopped for supplies, then packed up our car and drove an hour south to cook in my mother’s kitchen, which is not much larger than mine and, most notably, not full of my “essential” kitchen gadgets. I spent half the day asking, “Do you have a________?” and then trying to find something that would work in its place, and the other half of the day saying, “shit! I forgot the ______!” and having to go to the grocery store to replace it. There were also conflicts with a certain member of my family not being able to stay the fuck out of the kitchen. But we’re not going to talk about that.

So this year, my moms and my stepmom’s mother (whom we’re not going to talk about) will be driving up here to eat, and all they have to bring is an extra chair and some plastic food storage containers. Everybody wins! I will load them up on cheese, salami, and crackers and Andrew will get them addicted to the Wii while I toil in the kitchen for a few hours.

The Monday and Tuesday of Thanksgiving week are sort of aggravating if you’re the cook. You can’t actually do any of the cooking; you can only think about all the stuff you have to cook Wednesday night and Thursday morning. I took my mind off it long enough to get into an eloquent flame war on a LiveJournal community and, oh yeah, do my job and stuff. But, to say the least, it’s been pretty thought-consuming.

Entry filed under: family, Intarwebs, marriage, work. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Let’s see how productive you are when your uterus is throbbing.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Erin  |  November 20, 2007 at 9:30 am

    I wish I was there with you guys for Thanksgiving. I’m sure that it won’t be too bad with the certain member of the family there, but I guess you’ll just have to wait and see.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I also write for:

Latest Twitter Ramblings

Five Star Friday

Archives

November 2007
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

