I don’t have to drink myself into oblivion tonight!

November 12, 2007 at 5:09 pm Leave a comment

Every Monday, some friends come over to watch Prison Break with us. Let me preface: it’s not a good show, by any means. It is predictable and overly dramatic and the acting is uneven. But it is a fun show, especially with this particular crew. I have to say it is the bright spot on a Monday at work when there’s no longer lunch to look forward to.

This Monday, however, was not too bleak, meteorology aside. Someone who was not good at her job was let go over the weekend and there are going to be a lot of changes. I was asked to sit in on a meeting to give perspective on some frustrations we had with that person’s department and to offer suggestions about how to improve processes. I think I came off really well, and I spoke confidently and assuredly while also maintaining tact about the recently let-go person. I felt at one point like, “Wow, who am I today?”

I attribute my temporary competence to the Thai iced coffee I had at lunch. Better than Red Bull!

I then somehow caught up on an hour of work in 20 minutes’ time, riding on the tail end of my iced coffee wings, and found myself surprised when it was quitting time. Then, instead of being a lazy procrastinator and going straight home, I stopped at the store for dinner stuff and beer for our guests.

I absolutely love days where I feel this together. Infrequent though they are, to have one on a Monday after a week like last week is a new experience altogether.

Entry filed under: friends, life stuff, work. Tags: , , , .

Looking for the holes. And my words, like silent raindrops fell and echoed in the wells of silence.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I also write for:

Latest Twitter Ramblings

Five Star Friday

Archives

November 2007
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

