Second-degree Herbicide

November 6, 2007 at 6:05 pm 1 comment

A coworker of mine is leaving today at noon to move to Tennessee, where she will be working remotely. She’s worked here for over 12 years, so I imagine there will be a lot of emotions around the office today. Meanwhile, my schedule at work is somewhat altered to accommodate her absence, and I’ll have to rush back after my 2.5 hour class instead of going home for the day. I hate that, but I’ll suck it up.

Last night we had friends over for our Monday night Prison Break ritual. It is not a good show, I realize, but it is a fun show, especially when we watch it with our friends. Last night they aired two episodes back to back, so we made a pizza party of it, and today I feel terribly bloated and heartburny.

It’s terrible how your digestive system changes as you get older, isn’t it? I used to be able to eat pizza with no consequences, and now I feel like that Alka-Seltzer commercial. And I didn’t even eat the whole thing.

Anyway, with K leaving today, I have inherited a small rain forest of plants. I am nervous as hell that they will all shrivel the moment she pulls out of the parking lot, because my last three attempts at home to grow life ended in death. First I killed a palm tree, and when its head broke off in a mushy mess into my hand, I cried. Then there were the hyacinths and narcissuses (narcissi?) that I bought, for which I sulked for a few days, and then some irises I started from bulbs, for which I was so jaded that all I could muster was a sighed of, “whatever.”

To be fair, I don’t think it was my fault with the flowers so much as the insurmountable fact that my deck gets almost zero sunlight. They didn’t stand a chance, no matter how much attention I gave them.

But the palm still haunts me, man. When I think about that little tree dying in my hands, I want to call Plant Protective Services and have them come to my desk immediately and take all these plants away.

No, I will try very hard to be a good mom to them, anxious though I am to have their lives in my hands. Maybe I’ll look them all up on Wikipedia tonight and see what they need so I don’t over/underwater them.

Entry filed under: friends, life stuff, motherhood, work. Tags: , , , , , .

Bluetooth Blog stats.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ed  |  November 11, 2007 at 3:21 am

    IM IN UR BLOG DRVIN UP UR STATS

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I also write for:

Latest Twitter Ramblings

Five Star Friday

Archives

November 2007
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

