MySpace Stalking

November 5, 2007 at 10:16 pm Leave a comment

Today, work was mercifully brief, and I had a meeting that helped relieve a source of stress that has been looming for a while.

I had lunch with Andrew after shopping for a new phone and, finally, switching to a shared plan with the same carrier. I have a new phone, my first flip, and it makes me nervous, because I drop electronics. It is purported to be durable, so let’s hope it can withstand the klutz test. I already dropped it once exiting the car today and it’s virtually unscathed. SCORE!

I have been Googling my exes and old friends I haven’t talked to in years and searching for them on Facebook and MySpace. I’m not sure why, as I have virtually no interest in striking up relationships with most of them. Sites like Facebook and MySpace are weird to me, because they seem to serve no purpose other than to catalog your friends and acquaintances. They’re like address books with imbedded video and audio, and gaudy, nausea-inducing layouts. Maybe I’m not using them right.

Still, it’s comforting to be able to collect all my current friends like they were interactive baseball cards.

The fact that I can secretly look up people I no longer have contact with is extremely comforting, but also sad, to know that even though they no longer exist in my life that they still do exist for someone else, and that maybe they remember me and think of me too some times.

I have never been good with the finality of ending a relationship, because I still want to keep the person I loved in my life, in the present, even if the nature of the relationship is different. The problem of course is that the person no longer belongs to the body and the name it once did and exists only in the past and my memory, along with the person I was when I loved them.

This post was more melancholy than I expected. But, anyway, it got me to wondering if I am alone and creepy in this habit or if other people do it too. And, if so, why do you think it is?

Entry filed under: friends, Intarwebs, life stuff, work. Tags: , , , , , .

Going to the city, gonna eat a lot of Chinese food. Bluetooth

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I also write for:

Latest Twitter Ramblings

Five Star Friday

Archives

November 2007
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

