Going to the city, gonna eat a lot of Chinese food.

November 4, 2007 at 9:41 pm 4 comments

Having successfully slogged through all my homework yesterday, I am proud to say that today will be a day of complete leisure. This is definitely needed, since circumstances at work next week will make my schedule very  bloated indeed.

Since there is no Chinese food worth eating in the ‘Ham, Andrew and I are going with some friends down to Seattle to eat at Shangai Garden. We have discovered a formula for family style eating at Chinese, Indian, and Ethiopian restaurants, wherein the ideal amount of food = n-1 where n<2. If you have only two people, it doesn’t work, but for parties of three or more, if you subtract one from the number of diners and order that many dishes, you will have exactly enough food to be only moderately stuffed by dinner’s end.

Andrew will also have the opportunity to sell his Sega Dreamcast to Pink Godzilla and I will get to quench my bubble tea craving.

Bubble tea is one of my greatest joys in life, but sadly I can’t get any in Bellingham. I marvel at the fact that I live in a college town with a population of almost 70,000, and have no decent place to get bubble tea—or Chinese food, come to think of it. We have restaurants that say they serve Chinese food, but it’s the kind where every dish seems to have the same breaded chicken and the sauces are all goopy and shiny. Yuck.

There is a new place for bubble tea opening soon. It’s called the Black Pearl, which I think is a wonderful name, but it’s in a horrible location. We fully expect it to be mediocre at best and closed within its first year of business.

I’ll totally be there on opening day to see if I’m right, though.

Off to enjoy my day of leisure. I think the sun is even making a cameo for the day. That’s nearly unheard of in November!

Today also marks the  anniversary of my first “date” with my new husband, whom I am happy to report I still have a huge crush on, two years and one day after our first meeting.

Entry filed under: Bellingham, friends, life stuff, marriage, Seattle, work. Tags: , , , , , .

Performance Art. MySpace Stalking

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Modern Princess  |  November 4, 2007 at 11:27 pm

    I understand what you mean about Chinese food. We have plenty of Chinese places around here, but in order to get the good stuff we have to travel and make a date of it. Same with sushi. What is up with the local grocery stores sushi? The rice alone is rock hard. Give me the good melt-in-your-mouth sushi in the next town over any day!

    Happy date-iversary!

    Reply
  • 2. Jane  |  November 5, 2007 at 3:36 am

    Hi, I found you on the NaBloPoMo randomizer. This post caught my eye, because one of my friends just left our city (Phoenix) to move to Bellingham. Small world!

    Reply
  • 3. Wayne Park  |  November 10, 2007 at 8:16 am

    “The Black Pearl” – we’ve been waiting for that joint to open for months.

    Reply
  • 4. K  |  November 29, 2007 at 6:38 pm

    Your everyday local grocery store doesn’t seem to realize that the texture of cold, refrigerated rice is abominable. Food safety and all. If your’e going to bother with the grocery store sushi, let it come up to room temp before consuming. Better yet, learn to roll the stuff yourself. Sushi rice can be frozen and then microwaved till it is room temp. It’s actually very convenient to make it this way, way better then the grocery store’s, and cheaper.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I also write for:

Latest Twitter Ramblings

Five Star Friday

Archives

November 2007
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

